First ramblings of a woman desperate to lose weight

I’ve been on this weight loss journey for more than half my life. I’ve always been curvy but after I had my children I just wasn’t able to shift the weight. I know all the rules of losing weight eat less, exercise more, make informed choices and over the years I’ve lost loads of weight and then put it all back on again.

I don’t like exercise and although I like to swim once I’m in the water it does take a conscious effort for me to get ready to go to the pool. On holiday I swim for at least half an hour a day but at home in the warmth of my living room, getting out there when its pouring with rain or snowing is not easy. I do pilates every now and then and when I’m in a class I love it, but again don’t feel motivated enough to get up and go out to a class. Its within me to do all these things and I just sit on my rear and play around on the laptop or watch tv.

Some days I have to look after my 2yr old granddaughter and I love her to bits but its very tiring and at the age of 60 I don’t have the energy I had when I had her mother all those years ago! I am someome who generally is very laid back and can deal with anything but a few years ago I was bullied at work by my boss (all sorted now – I’ve retired!!!) and now find it harder to deal with certain things that come my way. My son’s marriage has broken down and his wife’s left him and he’s now the main carer for their son. He’s trying to change his life around and do a childcare course so he can help give his son a good role model, which will mean he may need me to help look after him sometimes. I won’t go into the details of what happened, I tend to get tunnel vision and rant for England  about it all. Suffice to say, I’m proud of my son but the worry of it all (he’s coping brilliantly by the way) has made me question so much and I’m having problems resisting the munchies! I know I can’t use that as an excuse but it does affect my moods and I’m trying not to make excuses at all.

Anyway, I belong to a weight loss group on line  (www.weightlossresources.co.uk) and with their help I’m trying to keep on track. I log all food and exercise and go on the forums on a regular basis for support and advice and since December I’ve lost 1.5stone which is great.

In December I was diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes. I had been glucose intolerant for many years and my late mum was diabetic and my sister is also diabetic and despite being monitored regularly by my GP, I never thought it would happen to me. Then it did! This made me more focussed on losing my weight and to be honest it was a relief to be diagnosed as it meant I had to deal with it rather than ignore it.

Life is for living and losing the weight will mean I will be in control of my diabetes and that I will look & feel better. Only thing is that as I’ve got so much to lose that I will become wrinkly and have lots of loose skin so I may not get down to the ideal  weight for me as it will make me look drawn and haggard and like a wrinkly prune! Need to win the lottery to have a fully body lift!

My journey is a long one but I will succeed and get myself in better shape so I can have a long life and see my grandchildren grow up and live their lives too. I will come on the blog when I have down days and when I have good days, I won’t put my weight down on the blog, I do that on the forum I’m on, but I will shout when I have a good loss and cry when things don’t go quite right.

I hope that by being positive about losing weight I will be able to get to my goal and perhaps inspire others on the way. I’ve rambled again but it does help putting it down!

 

2 thoughts on “First ramblings of a woman desperate to lose weight

  1. Hi,
    1.5 stone is great! That is a lot of weight. Shifting weight isn’t easy. I am lucky in that I am not over weight, but I have put on a stone and a half in the last few years. I am getting to that age where it is starting to go on a bit to easily. I have joined the gym in the last few months – mostly to tone up and just lose a few pounds. It’s really hard keeping motivated. I didn’t lose a single pound for 4 weeks and was bored. This week i suddenly lost 4lb!! It takes time and commitment but they are the hardest things. My biggest thing is that I love eating!! Sometimes knowing what is good and bad for us doesn’t help. I smoke, and really hate it. I have tried to give up many times with varying success but ultimately end up back on them. Knowing it is bad for me doesn’t help a jot! One day I will make it happen. Don’t give up with the weight loss, just little things like a short walk each day can help. I am trying lots of different classes at the moment. I went to yoga last week and loved it. It really surprised me – one how much I liked it, and two, even though I didn’t get at all hot and sweaty, I couldn’t move the next day!! Good luck to you – I am looking forward to keeping up with the good weeks, and the bad ones with you!
    Kelly x

  2. Hey, how come Kel found you before I did?

    It is horrible struggling to lose weight, believe me I know, and at Kel’s age I too thought I would never have a weight problem but it creeps up on you and the older you get the harder it is to get rid of, at least it feels that way. I congratulate you on losing so much and perhaps, just perhaps it may give me the incentive to get my backside back into gear and make a conscious effort to eat sensibly. But given the choice, chocolate is far more appealing than a lettuce leaf 😉

Leave a Reply

